Whole Hog Barbecue State Championship

October 1 - 2, 2021 Wide Open Bluegrass Raleigh

The Whole Hog Barbecue Championship is the culmination of a series of barbecue cook-offs held throughout the state using North Carolina Pork Council-sanctioned rules. The winner of each local cook-off is invited to the state championship to compete for coveted trophies and cash prizes, not to mention bragging rights. In addition to the on-site culinary trophy for best whole hog barbecue, there are also trophies for best sauce, crispy skin and blind-taste judging. .

Each sanctioned event is guaranteed to send at least one cook to the state championship.

Qualified cooks:
Registration will open this summer.

Kevin Peterson (State Championship 2019)
Chris Fineran (State Championship 2019)
Billy Narron (State Championship 2019)
David Hoffman (BBQ for Paws 2019)
David Murray (BBQ for Paws 2019)
Dru McDaniel (Vander Pig Cookoff 2019)
John Kearney (Vander Pig Cookoff 2019)
Timothy Carroll (Vander Pig Cookoff 2019)
Jason Williamson (Smoke on the Water 2019)
DJ Stox (Smoke on the Water 2019)
Wesley Bowers (American Legion 116 2019)
Kevin Wooten (American Legion 116 2019)
Jason Baker (Clayton Squealin’ on the Square 2019)
John Kantenwein (Pork & Beats Festival 2019)
Timothy Mills (Pork & Beats Festival 2019)
David Grandy (Barbecue Summit Cookoff 2020)
Andy Harrison (Tobs Annual Beer & BBQ Festival 2020)
Ryan Murphy (Brew Blue & Que 2020)
Roy Parker (Cue for the Crew 2020)
Jeffery Parkhurst (Pig in the Park 2020)
Michael Hemmingway (Belhaven Breakwater BBQ Festival 2020)
Mark Copeland (Smoke on the Southside 2020)
Samuel Pollard (Smoke on the Southside 2020)
Lewis McDougald (Spencer Penn’s 10th Annual Cook off 2021)
Charlie Meeks (BBQ on the Bluff 2021)
Amy Bell (Festival on the Neuse 2021)
Brooke South (Festival on the Neuse 2021)
(Seaboard Lion’s Memorial Day Cookoff 2021)


Jen Kendrick