Whole Hog Barbecue State Championship

September 27 - 28, 2019 Wide Open Bluegrass Downtown Raleigh


  1. Kevin Peterson
  2. Chris Fineran
  3. Billy Narron

The Whole Hog Barbecue Championship is the culmination of a series of barbecue cook-offs held throughout the state using North Carolina Pork Council-sanctioned rules. The winner of each local cook-off is invited to the state championship to compete for coveted trophies and cash prizes, not to mention bragging rights. In addition to the on-site culinary trophy for best whole hog barbecue, there are also trophies for best sauce, crispy skin, blind-taste judging and a people’s choice award, sponsored by BQ Grills.

For years, people have asked to try the barbecue of the winning pig. Now you can purchase a wristband and try all of the pigs and vote for your favorite.

Proceeds from the wristband sales will be donated to the InterFaith Food Shuttle and the IBMA Bluegrass Trust Fund, a non-profit organization that provides assistance to bluegrass professionals experiencing financial emergencies.


2019 Whole Hog Barbecue State Championship 
1st Place: Kevin Peterson, Showtime’s Legit BBQ
2nd Place: Chris Fineran, Beach Boys BBQ
3rd Place: Billy Narron, Wicked Pig

Crispy Skin: Chris Fineran, Beach Boys BBQ

Blind Taste Judging:
1st Place: Kevin Peterson, Showtime’s Legit BBQ
2nd Place: Jason Baker, Baker Boys BBQ
3rd Place: David Grandy, Lazy Days

Best Sauce:
1st Place: Ashley Wheeler, Smokin’ Black Jack BBQ
2nd Place: Mark Copeland & Billy Perry, Pocosin Boys
3rd Place: Brooke South, South in Your Mouth Cookin’ Team

People’s Choice Award, sponsored by BQ Grills:
1st Place: Brooke South, South in Your Mouth Cookin’ Team
2nd Place: Justin Boswell, Busted Grills
3rd Place: Kacey Field, KC-Que


Jason Baker, Baker Boy’s BBQ, Goldsboro
Justin Boswell, Busted Grills, Greenville
Wesley Bowers, Getting Piggy With It, Washington
Brandon Copeland, Law Dogs, Hobbsville
Mark Copeland and Billy Perry, Pocosin Boys, Colerain
Bruce Daniel, Big Bad Wolf, Roanoke Rapids
Patrick Dowdee, Fur & Spur BBQ, Raleigh
Kacey Field, KC-Que, Newport
Chris Fineran, Beach Boys BBQ, Little River, S.C.
Richie Fulghum, Porky’s Defense, Wilson
Paul Gainey, It’s ‘Que Time BBQ, Cape Carteret
David Grandy, Lazy Days, Morehead City
Mike Hall, Hall’s Cooking Team, Newport
Andy Harrison, Mr. Curley’s Boys, Louisburg
Michael Shane Hemenway, My Sweet Hog Cooking Team, Newport
David Hoffman, Grilling Palms BBQ, Kinston
Charlie Meeks, Lee Meeks, Captain Charlie’s Cooks, Newport
David Murray, Hound Dog BBQ, Snow Hill
Billy Narron, Wicked Pig, Middlesex
Kevin Peterson, Showtime’s Legit BBQ, Benson
Bobby Prescott, BP Country Cookers, Newport
McClentic Sanford, GMC, Newport
Brooke South, South in Your Mouth Cookin’ Team, Newport
D.J. Stox, Bull Pen BBQ, Kenly
Ernest Twisdale, Grillfather Cooking Team, Roanoke Rapids
Ashley Wheeler, Smokin Black Jack BBQ, Princeton
Jason Williamson, Creekside BBQ, Riegelwood
Kevin Wooten, Pickin’ & Grillin’ BBQ, Raleigh


Presented by:

People’s Choice Award presented by BQ Grills


Jen Kendrick
NC Pork Council